Thunder Over Red Bank…

In June, 2013, I was out taking pictures in Red Bank, NJ.  Originally, I was trying to get a sunset/skyline picture of the town for an album cover for a project I was working on (The Downtown Allstars of Red Bank – www.redbankallstars.com).

We decided to go in a different direction with the album cover, so this picture was forgotten.

While I was out, the weather turned- what looked like a little rain shower in the distance started to grow.  I could start to see lightning in the distance, beyond the trees.  I was standing out on a pier that jutted into the river.  With a big metal camera and a big metal tripod.  For 100 yards, I’m the tallest thing and I’m holding a hunk of metal.  Smart Marlo, real smart.

So why not add to my stupidity?  I’m waiting for this damn sunset!  Maybe the storm in the distance will add some drama?  Sure.  There’s lots of things between me and the lightning…

Before I knew it, I’m in the middle of this storm… lightning in front of me, in back of me, around me… hitting the water in front of me.  The thunder was deafening.  The wind was almost blowing me over- but my Nikon and I stood fast.  My Bogen tripod was straining to keep the camera steady during the long exposure, but did a great job, being the trooper that it is.  It is, without a doubt, the most incredibly stupid thing I ever did in my life.

But, I lived.  And got this…

 

Lightning over Red Bank, NJ strikes the Oyster Point Hotel

Lightning over Red Bank, NJ strikes the Oyster Point Hotel

 

Bring it.

 

(For the photographers in the group… Nikon D800, 24-70mm-f/2.8 lens @ 24mm, ISO 100, 0.4 sec @ f/22 on a Bogen tripod w/cable release)

Leave a Reply

