There’s Something in the Fog…

It’s been awhile… but now that the weather is starting to warm up along the Jersey Shore, I can get out and start shooting again and write some blog posts.  The first order of business is to do some location scouting.  Much has changed since it was last warm around here.  Superstorm Sandy did a number on us.  So it’s important for a photographer to check out the old “haunts” and also find some new ones.

I have a photoshoot with some other photographers coming up in a couple of weeks.  I wanted to check the location now, rather than be surprised the day of.  So I took a ride…

Standing on the rocks above the water, the ocean was pounding the shoreline.  There was no breeze.  There were no people.  It was 3PM on a bright sunny day, but the light was dropping.  The fog was rapidly rolling in- I was losing light quickly.  An eerie cold dampness descended on me.

There was a blood curdling scream.  I turned around to find the scene before me.  I raised my camera, focused, and shot a picture…

There's something in the fog...

There’s something in the fog…

It was just a seagull.

Or was it…

(Nikon D800, 24-70mm/f2.8 lens @ 70mm, 1/60 sec @ f/22, ISO 100- processing in Lightroom and Photoshop)

Leave a Reply

