Hello World?

© 2011 Marlo Montanaro, All rights reserved
© 2011 Marlo Montanaro, All rights reserved

Kaboom!

(thump thump) Is this thing on?  Hello world?  I dunno, should I use that as the title of my first blog post?  Kinda corny, I know.  But it’s been used forever and it kinda fits, so what the heck, I’ll use it.

So this is my blog.  What am I going to use it for?  I’m not sure yet.  I’ve just been reading a lot of blogs lately, mostly on photography, and I figured if they can do it, I can do it too.

So the photo above was taken at Red Bank’s Kaboom! fireworks this past July 3.  Really cool that I caught the Red, White, and Blue opening salvo!  We braved the rain and wound up with a pretty cool party with some good friends.  For the photography geeks, it was really simple to do.  Mounted my Nikon D5000 and 18-55mm lens (@ 22mm) on my Bogen tripod, attach a cable release, set the shutter speed for Bulb, aperture at f/11, and the ISO at 200.  Hold the shutter open for a few burts (3.6 seconds in this case) and voila!  Fireworks photos.  If I can do it, so can you.

So a little about me… Obviously, photography is a hobby of mine.  I’ve been shooting photographs on and off since I was pretty young, somewhere in the 1970’s.  I remember having a Yashica GSN 35mm range finder camera.  In the 1980’s, after college, I picked up a Minolta Maxxum 7000 (the first autofocus 35mm SLR).  What a great camera… (I still have it- it sits, retired, in the closet).  I ran a lot of film through that camera in 10 or 15 years.  I started a freelance photo business that did kinda well for a few years.  But film, and organizing slides, really just took up too much time and money and I put photography aside from about 1999 to 2010 when I picked up the D5000.  So right now, just a hobby- but who knows what the future holds!  I’m working on my Photoshop and Lightroom skills, so, the sky is the limit.

My other hobby is playing golf.  Let’s just say I’m a better photographer than I am a golfer.  But that doesn’t stop me from having fun!  A sunny day, 75 degrees, and a light breeze makes for the ideal round of golf.  It’s a game, it’s supposed to be fun.  The only thing better than a bad day of golf is a good day with the camera.

Work?  Well, on and off for the last 25 years I’ve worked as an electrical engineer and IT Manager for various companies in the defense, Internet, and cell phone industries.  Boring stuff, really.  Let’s just say I know my way around a computer and leave it at that.

My wife Dee and I have a financial services business and really enjoy helping people with their finances.  If you know us, we’ll probably talk to you about it, but this isn’t the forum.

Family is my wife of almost 19 years, Deedee, and my 13 year old son Victor.  The lights of my life.  Being married to Dee is the best thing I ever did, next to, of course, having Victor.  What else can I say?  Family is everything.

So what are my plans for this blog?  I dunno.  I’m on Facebook- and while I understand what Facebook is all about, it seems so limiting.  It seems like there should be more, and I think the blog may just be it.  Mostly I’ll talk about photography (something I know a bunch about), throw in a smattering of golf (umm, one never knows enough about golf to talk about it intelligently!), and try and tell a few jokes along the way.   I hope you enjoy reading!

Updates?  I’m a firm believer that anything on the web has to be updated on a regular basis.  So, I’ll do my best to keep this fresh and updated, at least weekly.

Oh, by the way.  I’m NOT a writer.  I’m not doing this because I have some unfulfilled desire to pull my own hair out write for a living.  In high school I got B’s and C’s in English- therefore, I’m a firm believer that I never learned the language.  Maybe I’ll discover a few things along the way.

So that’s it for now… my first blog post.   Hope you enjoyed it and hope you check back often.  If I set this WordPress thing up correctly, you’ll be able to subscribe to the RSS feed or get on an email list and get notified when there’s a new post.  I promise I won’t be annoying.

Enjoy!  And now for something completely different…

 

2 thoughts on “Hello World?

  1. Hey Marlo,

    I’ve mostly jumped ship and spend my time on http://www.presstheshutter.com. You might be surprised who you find there. You’re one of the people that I miss since I don’t visit PF much these days. I enjoy your images, your insights, and your advice even if I don’t always agree.

    I also enjoyed the blog. Come by and have a look at PTS.

    clupica

    • Hey Charles! Long time no type! Thanks for the kind words! I will check out presstheshutter. I don’t hit the forum much these days either, I noticed the traffic drop off so there’s not much to comment on. Plus I’m trying to build up this blog and some other socia media outlets. But hanging out on web sites doesn’t build your portfolio, so I’m trying to spend more time shooting while the weather is nice here in the states.

      I do miss our lively discussions though. Small differences are the spice of life!

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

